European Rental Awards shortlists announced

28 May 2020

The judging panel has chosen the shortlists for the European Rental Awards, with the winners to be announced during the online European Rental Awards & Market Update on 30 June.


The shortlists, selected from more than 80 entries, are as follows:

Small Rental Company of the Year (<€15 million revenues)
Cross Rental Services (Ireland/UK)
Drial Wynajem (Poland)
Vatupassi Törmälä Oy (Finland)

Large rental Company of the Year (>€15 million revenues)
Loxam (France)
Mollo Noleggio (Italy)
Renta (Finland)

Rental Product of the Year
Atlas Copco (E-Air VSD electric compressor)
Caterpillar (301.7 CR mini excavator)
Consair (CAMU D2 dust extractor)
Endress (Energy Storage & SmartEnergyBox)
JCB (19C-1E electric mini excavator)
Wacker Neuson (Dual View dumpers)

Best Digital Innovation of the Year
CheckMobile (AI-based damage detection software)
Intrador (Used equipment valuation tool and App)
Riwal (My Riwal App, VR training, augmented reality App)
Spartan Solutions (PHALANX digital operations platform)

Best Sustainable Rental Project of the Year
Volvo Construction Equipment (Sweden)
GSV Materieludlejning A/S (Denmark)
Hoogwerkt (The Netherlands)
(Judged by the ERA’s Sustainability Committee.)

ERA Technical Committee Award
Haulotte (France)
Manitou (France)
Skyjack (Canada)
(Judged by the ERA’s Technical Committee.)

The webinar and awards ceremony - the European Rental Awards & Market Update - will be on 30 June at 16.00 (Brussels time) and will be free to view. Register in advance here and view details on the event at

The market update comprises presentations from the following industry experts:

  • Pierre Boels, ERA President & CEO, Boels Rental: The response of the rental market to Covid-19
  • Martin Seban, Consulting Director, IHS Markit: Projections for Europe’s construction industry
  • Chris Sleight, Managing Director, Off-Highway Research: A new landscape for the global construction equipment market 

The judges for the awards - except for the Sustainability and Technical Committee categories - were:

  • Vincent Albasini, CEO, Avesco Rent
  • Pierre Boels, President, European Rental Association & CEO, Boels Rental
  • Jaap Fluit, General Manager, Bredenoord
  • Karel Huijser, General Manager & Vice President, EMEA, JLG Industries
  • Murray Pollok, Managing Editor, International Rental News
  • Non-voting chair: Michel Petitjean, Secretary General, European Rental Association

Because of the online format for this year’s awards there will be no Lifetime Achievement or Person of the Year awards. 

The event is jointly organised by KHL Group, International Rental News and the European Rental Association.

Latest News
Cummins promotes five to VP positions
Leaders in multiple business segments appointed to expanded roles
Axolift enters Poland with new distributor
Time is right for expansion of low level access in the country, says OEM
Makinex to distribute HG in North America
Deal follows similar agreement for Australia