Best of the best - the 2012 World Demolition Awards

By Lindsay Gale25 October 2012

The winners are finally known! After a challenging evaluation by the international panel of industry experts, the winners of the 2012 World Demolition Awards can be published. The Awards were presented on Thursday 1 November 2012 during the gala dinner that formed part of the World Demolition Summit at the NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, in the centre of Amsterdam.

The winning entry for the Contract of the Year Award is described in detail in the pages of this magazine, and the winners of other categories will be reported on in future issues of D&Ri. The individual papers that made up the one-day conference that was the other component of the Summit can also now be downloaded from

The winners of the 2012 Awards in brief are:

Contract of the Year: Despe with Guy Doyere
Highly Commended: Erith, Keltbray

Contractor of the Year: joint winners Erith & Cantillon
Highly Commended: Despe

Environmental & Recycling Award: ERM

Safety & Training Award: Cantillon
Highly Commended: Keltbray, Lee Demolition, Lloyds Construction Services

Civils Demolition Award: NGA Newmarket

Urban Demolition Award: Keltbray
Highly Commended: Erith, Homrich

Industrial Demolition Award: Erith

Explosive Demolition Award: joint winners Precision Demolition and Safedem

Collaboration Award: Erith with Magnox
Highly Commended: AR Demolition

Manufacturers Innovation Award: Kiesel with Kocurek and OilQuick

Two special Awards were also presented this year, with the Judges' Discretionary Award going to AF Decom for the entry the company submitted in the Environmental & Recycling Award category. The second special award, the D&Ri Lifetime Achievement Award, went with the approval of the entire judging panel to David Sinclair to recognise the commitment and effort he has devoted to the demolition industry on both sides of the Atlantic.

The final announcement of the evening was the date and venue for the 2013 World Demolition Summit. The venue will again be the NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky and the event will take place on Thursday 31 October 2013 with a closing date for entries for next year's Awards of Friday 26 July 2013. Entry forms and other relevant documentation will be available to download from in January 2013.

Latest News
Vinci wins two major roads projects in Australia
Both contracts are estimated to be worth a total of nearly US$255 million
ESTA Awards 2023 shortlist revealed
Find out which companies are the finalists in this year’s ESTA Awards of Excellence contest
Boom lifts: Testing the limits
Capacity, flexibility and lowering emissions are seeing new introductions for telescopic lifts