ESTA Awards 2018 call for entries

04 December 2017

Esta awards evening 296

Winners at the ESTA awards evening 2017

European crane and transport association ESTA has launched its call for entries to its annual awards programme.

The European association for abnormal road transport and mobile cranes is encouraging more smaller companies to enter its 2018 users’ night and awards and enjoy what has become one of the industry’s most popular and successful events. The event, a dinner and drinks reception, is described as “Europe’s premier crane and transport awards evening.”

Entries for the awards can be submitted in English or in any one of the following four languages – French, German, Italian or Spanish.

The next awards dinner will take place at the Hilton Paris Charles de Gaulle Airport in France on Thursday 26 April 2018, during the Intermat exhibition.

The evening has long been hailed as an excellent networking event and an opportunity for all national member associations – and their members – to present their companies and projects on a European platform.

The awards are run in partnership with International Cranes and Specialized Transport magazine and its publisher KHL Group. Full details are at: and on the ESTA website: Entry forms are here on the ESTA web site.

As in previous years, there are ten categories and one winner will be selected in each category out of a maximum of four finalists. The finalists in each category will be announced in the last week of February.

Note that the closing date for entries is 19 January 2018.

The ESTA Users’ Night and Awards takes place in the Spring of every year and regularly attracts more than 500 guests. The awards are open to companies that are members of ESTA national associations, ESTA special members and ESTA affiliates.


The ten award categories are as follows:

- Cranes, telescopic, lifting capacity up to 120 tonnes and knuckle boom cranes of any type and lifting capacity.

- Cranes, telescopic, lifting capacity more than 120 tonnes

- Cranes, lattice boom

- Transport, trailer and load up to 120 tonnes GCW [gross combination weight]

- Transport, trailer and load more than 120 tonnes GCW

- Combined techniques

- Safety

- Innovation, end user

- Innovation, manufacturer

- SPMT job of the year.


The crane and transport jobs of the year are awarded to an individual company for an innovative, complicated or otherwise unusual job, completed safely, professionally and to the client’s satisfaction.

Judging is carried out by an independent jury of experienced professionals, according to a strict points system drawn up by ESTA. The finalists are published in advance of the awards evening, with the winners being announced on the night.




Latest News
First Scottish crane operator apprenticeship announced
Scottish Plant Owners Association and CITB announce first ever Scottish crane operator apprenticeship
Two new additions to AEMs Hall of Fame
Two leading figures from the construction industry have been added to listing
Fifth IAPA judge announced
Pedro Torres, CEO of Riwal, takes the final judging place ahead of the March 2024 event