ESTA Awards winners for 2014 announced in Amsterdam

By Laura Hatton24 April 2014

The winners of the 2014 ESTA Awards for lifting and transport at the ESTA Users Night and Awards Din

The winners of the 2014 ESTA Awards for lifting and transport at the ESTA Users Night and Awards Dinner 2014

The winners of the 2014 ESTA Awards for lifting and transport were announced on 24 April at the ESTA Users Night and Awards Dinner 2014, organised by ESTA and International Cranes and Specialized Transport, at the Mövenpick Hotel in Amsterdam.

More than 250 industry professionals attended the event. Winners included Michielsens, Nordic Crane Stangeland, Fagioli, Liebherr and Mammoet, with the Gino Koster Award given posthumously to Karl Greiner, founder of hydraulic gantry systems company Greiner GmbH, who died in 2011.

Alex Taylor hosted the evening and the awards were presented by ESTA director Søren Jansen. This year 69 entries were nominated for awards.

The winners were:

Cranes, telescopic, lifting capacity up to 120 tonnes

Nordic Crane Stangeland, Norway.

Cranes, telescopic, lifting capacity above 120 tonnes

Michielsens, Belgium.

Cranes, Lattice Boom

Wagenborg Nedlift, Netherlands.


A. Trailer and load under 120 tonnes gross weight

Collett & Sons, United Kingdom.

B. Trailer and load over 120 tonnes gross weight

Wagenborg Nedlift, Netherlands.

Combined Techniques

ALE, United Kingdom.


Liebherr-Werk Ehingen, Germany.

Innovation End User

Fagioli, Italy.

Innovation Manufacturer

Mammoet, Netherlands.


Sarens, Netherlands.

The Gino Koster award
The final award of the night was The Gino Koster award, presented to a personality whose work and influence has taken the industry onto a higher level. The winner of this year’s award was Karl Greiner. It was presented by David Collett, ESTA president and Collett Transport managing director, to Margot Greiner and Michael Greiner, who collected the award on behalf of Karl Greiner.

Gold sponsor for the awards was Terex, with silver sponsors Liebherr, Manitowoc, Scheuerle/Nicolas/Kamag, and Tadano. Supporting sponsors were Euro Rigging, Faymonville and Köhler Kran-Service.

The judges
The jury was jointly chaired by Cor van Unen and Peter van Dam, under the guidance of co-ordinator Wim Richie. Jurors for transport, safety, innovation and self propelled modular transporters (SPMT) were Peter van Dam (chair), John Dyne, Wolfgang Draaf, Wim Kattouw, Wim Richie and Ambro Smit. Jurors for cranes, combined techniques, safety and innovation were Cor van Unen (Chair), Andreas Gurtner, Willem Spek, Peter Libert, Nils Lundgren and Sergio Pontalto.

Full details of the winning entries will be available on ESTA and International Cranes and Specialized Transport websites and magazine.

Latest News
100 largest crane companies in North America
American Cranes & Transport’s 18th annual ACT100 index of North America’s top crane-owning companies.
Palfinger unveils new North American headquarters
Palfinger is continuing to expand its North American fooprint with the grand opening of its new, state-of-the-art headquarters in Schaumburg, IL.
U.S. DOL introduces construction safety, health committee
Fifteen people appointed to new U.S. Department of Labor Advisory Committee on Construction Safety and Health