Judges announced for 2012 European Rental Awards

By Murray Pollok28 November 2011

The judges for the 2012 European Rental Awards will be Gérard Déprez (CEO, Loxam), Geert Follens (president, Atlas Copco Portable Energy), Kevin Minton (senior manager, Construction Plant-hire Association), Murray Pollok (Editor, IRN) and Magnus Rosén (CEO, Ramirent).

The group provides a broad mix of professional experience in rental as well as representatives of the two organising bodies, which are the European Rental Association (of which Mr Déprez is president) and International Rental News.

Gert Follens brings enormous experience of both equipment supply and rental through his work with Atlas Copco as president of its Portable Energy division, which is a key supplier of compressors, generators and other site equipment to rental companies worldwide.

Alongside Mr Déprez as the rental industry representative is Magnus Rosén, who has a long track record of success in the European rental sector, first with Cramo and since early 2009 as CEO of Ramirent, one of Europe's top five renters.

Kevin Minton of the UK's CPA is an expert in health and safety and regulatory issues having worked for over a decade in the rental sector with the Hire Association Europe and for the last few years with CPA.

The awards will be held on 15 May next year during the European Rental Association's annual convention in Oslo, Norway.

The deadline for entries is Friday 17 February, 2012, and will be judged in five categories, as follows:

Large Rental Company of the Year (turnover over €15 million)

Small/Mid-sized Rental Company of the Year (turnover under €15 million)

Rental Product of the Year (product launched during 2011)

Rental Person of the Year

• In addition, the judging panel may present a Lifetime Achievement Award.

The Gold Sponsor for the awards is Ritchie Bros Auctioneers.

The awards website - www.khl.com/rentalawards - is now live. Companies and individuals will be able to download entry forms and obtain award guidelines at the site.

Companies are invited to submit their own entry forms - there is no requirement to be nominated by another company or individual - and the awards are open to any company operating in Europe, both ERA-members and non-members.

The awards will take place at the Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel in the centre of Oslo. Dinner bookings are being taken by the ERA.

Latest News
H&E relocates Little Rock branch
H&E Equipment Services has relocated its Little Rock branch to a new 6,450-square-foot facility in Mabelvale, AR
Used scissor, boom prices skyrocket in U.S.
Used access equipment prices are up 29% in the U.S. according to the September Market Trends Report from Ritchie Bros
US$8 billion transport investment by EU
EU to make available €7 billion for transport infrastructure projects, including deployment of alternative fuels infrastructure