Two directors retire from LafargeHolcim

By Sandy Guthrie04 April 2018

Two long-serving directors of LafargeHolcim, Thomas Schmidheiny and Bertrand Collomb, have decided not to stand for re-election at the group’s upcoming Annual General Meeting on 8 May.

Schmidheiny – a former CEO of Holcim – has been with the materials producing group for almost 50 years in different management functions, and later on the board of Holcim. Following the merger of Lafarge and Holcim, he became a board member of LafargeHolcim from 2015. He will remain one of the group’s main shareholders.

In recognition of his many years of service to LafargeHolcim, the board of directors has decided to name Schmidheiny honorary chairman of the group.

He began his career at Holcim in 1970. He became a member of the executive committee six years later and served as CEO between 1978 and 2001. After joining the board of directors in 1978 he was chairman of the board of directors from 1984 until 2003.

The company said Schmidheiny was instrumental in the merger of Holcim and Lafarge to form LafargeHolcim, which claims to be the world’s largest cement manufacturer.

Beat Hess, chairman of the board of LafargeHolcim, said, “For almost 50 years, Thomas Schmidheiny has made a significant contribution to the success of Holcim and later LafargeHolcim.

“He was instrumental in successfully expanding into promising growth markets and has made Holcim one of the leading companies in its industry.”

Bertrand Collomb joined Lafarge in 1975. After serving in different management positions, including head of North American operations, he served as chairman and CEO of Lafarge from 1989 to 2003, as chairman until 2007, and then subsequently director until 2012.

He was named honorary chairman of Lafarge in 2007, and joined LafargeHolcim’s board in 2015. Collomb has also decided not to stand for re-election at the upcoming AGM, which has a customary age limit of 75.

Hess said, “Bertrand Collomb has contributed significantly to the success of Lafarge and later LafargeHolcim in various roles. Under his leadership, Lafarge has become an industry leader in the building materials sector.”

All other current members of the board of directors will be proposed for re-election – Beat Hess, chairman; Oscar Fanjul; Paul Desmarais Jr; Patrick Kron; Gérard Lamarche; Adrian Loader; Jürg Oleas; Nassef Sawiris; Hanne Birgitte Breinbjerg Sørensen; and Dieter Spälti.

LafargeHolcim said that with the election of these nominees, the board of directors would consist of 10 members as compared to 12 today.

Latest News
Winds of change in Spain
Meeting the lifting and transport needs of the wind energy industry in Spain has given Mario Aguado and his family’s company a real boost, he tells Graham Anderson for ICST
JLG innovation and partnership focus at APEX
Recent acquisition and latest launches on display on manufacturer’s stand 
Multitel reveals new compact truck mount
Manufacturer publishes video of MXE 170 ahead of its APEX debut