Book your place at the IAPAs

By Euan Youdale09 February 2016

There are still places available for the International Awards for Powered Access (IAPAs).

There is an excellent shortlist this year, thanks to a fantastic set of entries across the board, including many of those that did not make it on to the shortlist, which was announced last week following the judges’ meeting on 28 January in Basel, Switzerland.

The winners will be revealed at the dinner and awards ceremony on 17 March 2016 in Madrid, Spain.

More than 100 entries across 13 award categories were received for the IAPAs 2016 - the event takes place on the same day as the IPAF Summit and regularly attracts audiences of more than 450 each year.

Jointly organised by Access International and IPAF, the IAPAs celebrate best practice and excellence in the powered access industry. As usual, the independent judging panel represented longstanding experience and great knowledge from across the world.

To book your place at the event visit

IAPAs 2016 shortlist

IAPA Innovative Technology Prize

  • France Elevateur, France
  • Holland Lift, Netherlands
  • Nationwide Platforms, UK

Powered Access Pioneer

  • Genie, USA
  • Haulotte, France
  • Power Towers, UK
  • Shanghai Horizon Equipment & Engineering, China
  • Time International, Denmark

Contribution to Safe Working at Height

  • AFI, UK
  • Elev8, UK
  • Mills Rental, Brazil
  • Philip Godding/JLG, UK
  • Ruthmann, Germany

IPAF Training Centre of the Year

  • DK Rental, Belgium
  • Maltech, Switzerland
  • Manlift Middle East, UAE

IPAF Instructor of the Year

  • Ezio Cantamessa, Italy
  • Alexander de Oliveira Celestino, Brazil
  • Phil Drayton, UK
  • José Ramón Etxebarria Urrutia, Spain
  • Pete Hazell, UK
  • Vitor Ribeiro, Portugal

Product of the Year – Mast climbing work platforms/hoists

  • Encomat, Spain, for the Smartclimber
  • Safi, Italy, for the Vision MC 2500 KG
  • Scanclimber, Finland, for the Mast Climber Top Crane (MCTC)
  • XL Group, France, for the XMH multimast platform

Product of the Year – Self-propelled above 20ft/6.1m

  • Almac, Italy, for the BIBI 850-BL
  • Dinolift, Finland, for the DINO 220XSE
  • Hinowa, Italy, for the Lightlift 26.14 Performance IIIS lithium-ion
  • Holland Lift, Netherlands, for the HL-330 E14 4WDS/N

Product of the Year – Self-propelled below 20ft/6.1m

  • Faraone, Italy, for the Elevah 51
  • Haulotte, France, for the STAR 6

Product of the Year – Vehicle/trailer mounted

  • France Elevateur, France, for the 091Fe
  • GSR, Italy, for the B200PX
  • Time Versalift, Denmark, for the LAT-38-135-H

Access Rental Company of the Year

  • AFI, UK
  • Industrial Access, Romania
  • Nationwide Platforms, UK
  • Riwal, Netherlands

Project of the Year

  • Genie, Netherlands, for the construction of a roller coaster at Hansa Park in Germany
  • Hydro Mobile, Canada, for the new FAA Control Tower at Tucson Airport, Arizona, USA.
  • Nationwide Platforms, UK, for the Savannah Project, Zoological Society of London (ZSL)
  • XL Group, France, for the MLC Centre in Sydney, Australia

Access Photo of the Year

Winner will be announced at the awards ceremony

IPAF/Access International Lifetime Achievement Award

Winner will be announced at the awards ceremony

The independent and impartial judges made their decisions based on the merit of each entry and are excluded from entering their company for any awards. The judges thank all those who took part and would like to encourage everyone in the industry to consider entering again for the awards in 2017.

The judging panel:

  • Mark Atkinson, Health & Safety manager, Clugston Construction, UK
  • Shawn Ong, COO, Galmon, Singapore
  • Ivan Papell, managing director & owner, Liftisa, Spain
  • Martin Vögtli, CEO, SkyAccess, Switzerland
  • Andy Studdert, IPAF president, and chairman and CEO, NES Rentals, USA
  • Non-voting chairman of the judges: Euan Youdale, editor, Access International
Latest News
Evergrande chairman under investigation over suspected ‘illegal crimes’
Trading in shares of Chinese property company Evergrande have been suspended 
Finalists announced for Bentley Systems’ 2023 Going Digital Awards
Projects from Europe, Middle East, and Africa named as finalists
H&E expands into Kansas
First branch in Texas takes coverage to 30 states