Shortlists announced for Diesel Progress Summit

22 September 2020

The finalists for the 2020 Diesel Progress Summit Awards have been announced. Seven awards will be announced live during the online event and an eighth award, The Diesel Progress Achievement of the Year Award - a ’best of the best’ chosen from the seven other winners - will be announced at the end of the Summit.

The second Diesel Progress Summit will be held online (this year) on 20 October from 11:00 to 13:00 pm Central US time. Click here for free registration.

In addition to the awards, there will be market presentations from senior representatives from Dana, Ricardo, CARB and Briggs & Stratton. The keynote speaker is Dana’s CEO and Chairman, James Kamsickas. See programme here.


The finalists are:

Drivetrain Component of the Year

  • Dana Inc. TE50 Transmission
  • Dana Inc. Spicer HVT1
  • Meritor Inc., 14Xe eAxle

Employer of the Year

  • Palmer Johnson Enterprises, Sun Prairie, Wis.
  • SRC Corp., Springfield, Mo.

Electric or Hybrid Application/Component of the Year (Sponsored by Dana Inc.)

  • FPT Industrial S.P.A., Zero emissions system for power generation
  • Romotech, ROHYB hybrid generator set
  • Meritor Inc., 14Xe eAxle

Engine Distributor of the Year

  • DiPerk Power Solutions, Peterborough, UK
  • Engines Inc., Jonesboro, Ark.
  • Industrias Ivor S.A. Casa Inglesa, Bogota, Columbia
  • Power Torque Engineering Ltd., Coventry, UK
  • Superior Diesel, Rhinelander, Wis.

Engine of the Year Under 175 HP

  • Deutz, 2.9 L
  • Hatz Diesel of North America, 3H50t
  • Yanmar America Corp., 3TNY80FT

Engine of the Year Over 175 HP (Sponsored by Hengst Filtration)

  • Deutz, TCD 5.2
  • John Deere, 13.6 L
  • Kubota Engine America, V5009
  • Volvo Penta, D4 and D6 marine propulsion systems

New Power Technology

  • Dana Inc., TM4 IPM on-engine generator
  • Hatz Diesel of North America, flywheel integrated permanent magnet generator sets
  • Isuzu Diesel, 4HV1 alternative fuel engines

The Diesel Progress Achievement of the Year Award (Sponsored by Isuzu Diesel/ Isuzu Motors America, LLC)

  • To be announced October 20th.

The Diesel Progress Summit and Awards will again cover off-highway machinery used in construction, agriculture, mining, forestry, and marine, as well as commercial vehicles. It will focus on the changes in engines and powertrains that are being driven by emission regulations and advances in hybrid, electrification, and other technologies.

The virtual Diesel Progress Summit 2020 follows the very successful first event in September 2019 and is targeted at professionals in machinery and vehicle OEMs, equipment owners, engine manufacturers and distributors, and component and powertrain suppliers.

The finalists were determined by the judges for the Diesel Progress Summit. The number of finalists vary by category based on the number of nominations received and the determination of the judges,

The judges were:

  • David Campbell, Director of Engine and Industrial Design, The Charles Machine Works (owner of Ditch Witch)
  • Andy Noble, Head of Business Development - Commercial Vehicle & Off-Highway, Ricardo Automotive & Industrial
  • Larrie York, Founder and President, Frontier Power Products
  • Steve Zumbusch, former Director of Technology Development, Eaton Hydraulics (retired)
  • Chair of judges: Mike Osenga, Editor-at-large, Diesel Progress
Latest News
Columbus Equipment hosts 3D Lift Plan training
The two-day training provided Level 1 and Level 2 certification for 3D Lift Planning.
New CEO for Atlas Crane
Charles Kent, having previously served as the company’s chief operating officer, will begin a new role. 
SPMT moves bridge pieces in India
Indian construction company uses Scheuerle SPMT to transport prefab components