Less than four weeks to get your Award entry in.

29 November 2011

The deadline for entries for the International Awards for Powered Access will be upon us before you know it so we hope you are well into the process of getting your submission together.

Don't forget to encourage, suppliers, customers, and colleagues who you think are worthy of recognition too.

The forth IAPAs (International Awards for Powered Access), jointly organised by Access International magazine and IPAF (International Powered Access Federation), will take place on the evening of the IPAF Summit: Thursday 29 March at the Sheraton Roma Hotel, Rome, Italy.

Our judging panel is nearly complete and currently includes: Wayne Lawson, JLG vice president and managing director of EAME and IPAF president; Gordon Leicester managing director and owner of Facelift and designer of the revolutionary ZT Safety Systems harness; Andy Studdart, chief executive officer of NES Rentals and Richard Tindale, global sales and marketing director of Snorkel.

Access International's editor Maria Hadlow said, "As usual the awards will be held alongside IPAF's AGM and Summit and we are confident that the event will be better than ever. We urge everyone in the access business - manufacturers, distributors, rental companies and training organisations - to consider submitting an entry for the 2011 awards. But please don't leave it until the last minute!"

The IAPAs are open to manufacturers, rental companies, end users and training establishments working in the access industry, you need not be a member of IPAF to enter an award.

All you have to do now is decide which categories you want to enter (see below) and make sure your entry form reaches Maria Hadlow by 23 December 2011. If you think you will have problems meeting the deadline, please contact Maria and she will try to assist you.

We will shortly be revealing the identities of this year's judging panel so for some pointers on preparing your entry go to the website. http://www.iapa-summit.info/

Look out for information on booking your table for the IAPAs in the near future. More information about the awards and the venue can be found at http://www.iapa-summit.info/

Queries on the awards can be directed to Maria Hadlow, editor of Access International, on +44 (0)1892 786214 or maria.hadlow@khl.com

Award Categories

Have a good look at the list and decide which categories you want to enter. Also please encourage any of your customers, suppliers or colleagues you think should win one of the 2012 IAPAs.

Awards are for work carried out in 2011

IPAF Safety Champion of the Year
To an individual who has significantly raised powered access safety levels within an organisation or the industry generally.

The Access Rental Company of the Year
To a powered access rental company that has stood out through growth, innovative marketing, performance, client satisfaction and/or the development of new geographic or sector markets.

Access Project of the Year

Where intelligent, innovative or inspired use of access equipment and practices has made a real impact on a project.

The Access International New Product of the Year

To a manufacturing company for the launch of a new product, in its category, for the access industry in 2011, in recognition of that product's success or innovation - now divided into four separate awards so that the judges can better compare like-with-like.

  • Vehicles /Trailer Mount
  • Self-propelled (booms, scissors, spiders)
  • MCWP & Hoists
  • Low level Access

Contribution to Safe Working at Height

This award is for a manufacturer, rental firm or end user to recognise particular safety initiatives or commitments that have delivered significant improvements.

Award for Outstanding After Sales Service

Open to manufacturers, dealers, used equipment specialists and parts suppliers.

IPAF/Access International Lifetime Achievement Award
To someone who has made continued and significant commitment, contributions and achievement in the industry. This is a special award that will not necessarily be given every year. The winner will be selected by the judging panel, in consultation with IPAF and Access International magazine. IPAF and the judging panel will, however, be happy to hear recommendations. Previous recommendations will also be considered in subsequent years.

IPAF members only can enter the following categories

New IPAF Training Centre of the Year
To an IPAF or AWPT approved training centre which has demonstrated commitment to the training programme and distinguished itself through growth in training figures or new initiatives to promote training.

The IPAF Instructor of the Year
To an IPAF or AWPT certified instructor who has demonstrated commitment to the training programme and stood out through memorable instruction techniques or strength of personality.

Latest News
First Scottish crane operator apprenticeship announced
Scottish Plant Owners Association and CITB announce first ever Scottish crane operator apprenticeship
Two new additions to AEMs Hall of Fame
Two leading figures from the construction industry have been added to listing
Fifth IAPA judge announced
Pedro Torres, CEO of Riwal, takes the final judging place ahead of the March 2024 event